710 WEEK 12: RESEARCH TASK

Written by:

(Design poster for City for Humanity Awards 2023)

I have really enjoyed this first module of the MA in Graphic Design and feel I have really benefited from the lectures, research, case studies and briefs we have been given to work on. I have enjoyed hearing the perspectives of other professionals already established in design, as well as the views and opinions of the other students on the course. 

I have tried to use this module as a basis on which I can build my future practice. I have been able to start to think about what my own personal values are in terms of design and how I might incorporate them in my practice in the future. Through this module I have been able to develop a stronger sense of who I am as a designer and why I want to design, while beginning to understand my strengths and identify skills gaps which I want to improve on. I firmly believe that learning is a two-way street and because of that, I try approach it with an open mind, having no pre-conceived ideas of what design is or is not. I also believe that when it comes to learning, very often, you only get out of it what you are willing to put in and therefore, I have tried to take this opportunity to develop as much background as I possibly can and find out as much about how design works as possible. 

If I am surprised about anything, it is just how significant design is to the way we all live our lives – even though sometimes it is completely invisible to us because of the amount of visual information we process every day. I am beginning to understand that to be the best designer I can be, I need to think about how I interact with the world around me; the perspective I see things from; the connections I make in my mind. I need to be open to learning from other people by communicating with people – not only about the things that matter to me or impact my life but the things that impact other people and other cultures as well. 

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started